[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2005-12-15

Dear Laptop,

We've been together for a few years now, so I feel it is now the time to tell you about my past. About my first time with a computer. Because my first computer has come back into my life, and I feel I need to be completely honest with you about our relationship.

It was 1985. My aunt worked for IBM, and hooked us up with the first personal computing machine in town. It weighed about 70 pounds. It took about 15 minutes to boot up. It had a 256KB hard drive. And I loved it desperately and completely...

A few months ago when I went back to my parents' house, I saw this old computer sitting in the basement, collecting dust next to the other 3 abandoned computers and workout equipment. My relationship with that computer has been rekindled, and I still have feelings for it.

I was only planning on taking a few pictures for funsies, I promise, but as I have pulled up a few old programs and files, I feel the need to undergo a complete archeological dig of the ol' IBM XT and post the findings here. Dearest wifi laptop, this does not mean we are through, but I do need some time to get reacquainted with my old love.

Yours,

halee


<<prev - next>>