[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2005-11-07

One of the things that happened while I was away was that I joined a bowling league. (Another life goal I can cross off my list, score!)

I like it very much, it kind of feels like I'm starring in my own 1975 sitcom. I think that is mainly because everyone's names sound like such stereotypical bowling league-type names: Larry, Steve, Susan, Karen, Charlie, Floyd, Fern, Nancy, Phyllis, Carla, Karl, Patty...I could honestly go on forever and list every single person's name at league. Well, except the German guy, Baron. He belongs on a different 1975 sitcom.

Fern looks just like Blanche Devereaux. Larry and about 6 other guys look just like Kenny Rogers.

There are all sorts of little nuances that I was completely unaware of. In my personal bowling life, when you get a strike you make an X with your forearms and bash that against another person's Xed forearms. When you get a spare, you each hold up just half the X and bash forearms. This is not the etiquette in league bowling. In league, if you have an open frame, the proper thing to do is close your fist and bash your closed fist against your teammates' bashed fists. (Kind of like a jive handshake?) If you strike or spare, it's a standard open-palmed slap. (Kind of like...a jive handshake!) And as long as you break 100, you've "got respect."

I've actually been bowling pretty well for me. In the first two games, I'm usually up in the 120s or 130s. My third game is sucking so far. I guess I just get tired, so I need to work on my endurance. I honestly think if I start being better about working out, my bowling game will improve. I can just hear John McEnroe's voice in my ear telling me about the importance of fitness.


<<prev - next>>