[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2004-07-08

I've been working on some music compilations. I was hunting on the internet for some other ideas for songs to add to my compilation categories, and decided to make a diary survey asking you about what your favorite songs are for certain situations.

As it always goes with good ideas, someone has already thought of this and created a damn fine survey of best songs for various stuff.

So go take it.

And for those of you who don't belong to Diaryland and can't get into the surveybot, here are the Q&As for you.

Best song to listen to while jumping around your room.
"Stone Cold Crazy" - Queen

Best song to listen to while driving down a deserted highway at noon.
"Gimme Shelter" - Rolling Stones

Best song to listen to while driving down a deserted highway at midnight.
"Radar Love" - Golden Earring

Best song to listen to while working your groove thang.
"She's Got Everything" - The Kinks

Best song about, goddamnit, unrequited love.
"Jesse's Girl" - Rick Springfield

Best song about parties.
"Sexy and 17" - Stray Cats

Best song that tells a story.
"Paul Revere's Ride" - Beastie Boys

Choose a cause that is important to you. Now choose a song to go with it.
Um, freedom of speech? So I guess "Me So Horny" by Two Live Crew?

Best song to sing in the morning.
"Do You Know the Way to San Jose?" - Dionne Warwick

Best song to lose your virginity to.
God...I could think of a million for this one: "Surrender" by Cheap Trick, "Wings Upon Your Horns" by Loretta Lynn, "All Night Thing" by Temple of the Dog, "Sex Farm" by Spinal Tap....basically anything OTHER than Blind Melon. Or Bruce Hornsby.

Best sad break-up song.
"Train in Vain" - The Clash

Best angry break-up song.
"Tainted Love" - Soft Cell

Best song to get the point across. Interpret this question however you want.
This question is kind of weird and vague and hard. Maybe "Whoomp, There It Is" - Tag Team???

Best song to listen to while cutting your hair.
"Brass in Pocket" - Pretenders

Sometimes when I read a diary, I get a song stuck in my head. I also think of different songs for each diary I read regularly. Do you do this? If you read my diary, what song do you get stuck in your head?
I'm rewriting this question. The revised version is "What song best summarizes what you're all about?" and my answer is "Georgie Girl" by the Seekers.

Finally, inspire me. Give me one line from a song that never fails to inspire you.
"Is it a crisis or a boring change?" - Pavement

P.S. I would have liked to have seen "What is your token karaoke song?" and "What is your favorite makeout song?" on this list.


<<prev - next>>