[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2004-06-20

A Lesson in Texas Pride

Last night on my way home from a show, there was a super big bad dead body accident on the freeway. As in, three lanes of a three lane highway were closed. I sat in traffic for a very long time. I expected to be annoyed. I expected to get sleepy. I did not expect to witness something that made me swell with Texas pride.

A big doolie pickup truck was in the lane beside me. You know the kind: huge tires, big antenna, a Jerry Jeff Walker sticker on the back window, and a "American by birth, Texan by the grace of God" sticker on the bumper.

There was a guy in cutoffs and a cowboy hat standing up on the back bumper like he was waterskiing, whooping and hollering. He was using one hand to hold on to the tailgate, and the other hand to pump the keg in the bed of the truck. Every car they passed, he'd lean over and yell, "Hey, you wanna beer?"


<<prev - next>>