[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
03-08-2000 CE

One day, I got an extremely random e-mail from some lady somewhere named Maria:

"There is a typo..the word is association. Have a nice day!

MA"

Okay. Thanks, Maria. Now...what the crap are you talking about? There was no subject line, I had no idea what she was referring to, no idea how to respond, so here's what I wrote back:

"I apologize....but I have no idea what this message is about!! I'm guessing this was sent to me in error. If it wasn't, would you mind filling me in on what you are talking about? Your name isn't familiar to me, so if you could give me a little more explanation, I would appreciate it. Thanks!"

Here is the part where it gets good. So I thought what I just wrote there was pretty nice. Confused and in need of some clarification, but nice. Here's what "Maria" wrote "back":

"I thought you were the person who maintains and/or created the web page. I was just indicating that there is a typo on the web page...the word is Association, but it was typed as something else. I thought that as a UNT student, I would like to make sure that 'visitors' do not get the 'wrong' impression.

Sincerely,

MA"

Well, then. I'll give you an "impression" you little "whore." But I still tried to be as diplomatic and chipper as possible, so here was my "reply":

"I do maintain the website, and I appreciate your assistance in helping me correct any mistakes. I would be happy to make the change wherever the typo is, but there are hundreds and hundreds of pages on the website. Could you send me the URL of where you found the mistake? Otherwise I have no way to locate it. Thank you for your help!"

And dang it! I didn't save that final "message" she sent me, because that "message" was dripping with more "sarcasm" and had more "quotations" than the first one. And you better believe that I spent that entire "day" overusing "quotes" and "bitching" to "Shashana" about that little "hobag" "student" from "Houston." "."


<<prev - next>>