[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2005-12-09

I quit my job on Tuesday.

As Ron Burgundy once so eloquently put it, it's "kind of a big deal." I have only quit my job 3 other times in my life.

  1. The first job I quit was my part-time court clerk job. I was graduating high school, and my resignation was totally expected. My favorite part of that job was issuing warrants for people's arrests, and the complimentary cherry limeades that that judge brought me every day.


  2. The second job I ever quit was my part-time art department office job. I was graduating college, and my resignation was totally expected. My favorite part of that job was when the gallery technician needed to knock down a wall, so he handed me a sledgehammer and told me to have my fun while he went on his lunch break.


  3. The third job I quit was at the library science department at the same university. I was running away from home to Mad-Max my way across Australia...so although my resignation wasn't expected, it was understood. My favorite part of that job was the day I went in dressed like a librarian with a bun and a glasses chain and orthopedic shoes...and no one noticed.

I have never left a job because I was unhappy. Oh my goodness, quitting feels SO good when you hate your job! And you think you're going to be all good and work really hard up until the bitter end, and then your boss announces your resignation to the department like this and copies you on it (!?)...

Wanted you all to be aware of a change within the Dept. Halee, our emarketing person, has decided to leave to take advantage of other opportunities in the internet industry, effective January 3rd. She and I will work together during the next two weeks to transition her projects, so if you have any active eMarketing projects, please feel free to contact Halee or me to discuss.

I'm sure you will all agree with me that Halee has been a valued team member and instrumental in developing our Web-based initiatives. We will miss her greatly.

Hopefully, we will be able to install a new emarketing administrator quickly once the new year begins so that this transition will have minimal impact on our web-based business.
Thank you.

... and it totally makes you not give a shit because your boss makes your departure sound like it will have "minimal impact" and wants to "install" a new fucking person like you're some sort of software program.


<<prev - next>>