[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2006-03-16

Reason #4,389,212 That I Made the Right Decision Changing Jobs

At my old corporate healthcare job, every now and then a high profile surgeon would come for a visit, and everyone would be buzzing about it, whispering about "Oh, Dr. So-and-So is here today pssst pssst pssst..." That was all good and fun to see ophthalmic celebrities in person, but something happened yesterday that totally completely solidified my decision to switch companies/industries....

OWEN WILSON WAS IN OUR OFFICE YESTERDAY!?!?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Apparently he's friends with our CEO and was in town and stopped in to say hello. The news started as a small whispering buzz, which then grew to a curiously large amount of people in the hallways looking WAY too alert, then eventually mutated into a frenzy of girls running to the ladies' room to reapply makeup and arrange their hair. Kandice and I heard the news early, and had to immediately go on an errand downstairs to pick up the mail and had our antennae up for the blonde hair and rumored blue baseball cap. For one brief second, we saw the back of his head and his right ear as he went around a corner!

I work right beside a glass encased conference room, and a group of my ecomm buddies called an emergency meeting in there in response to the rumor he was going to be stopping by the corner office nearby. I'm a fool and I stayed at my desk because I had a ton of work to do, but I kept my ears open for his twangy little voice. I never heard him...but apparently he walked RIGHT behind my cubicle not 10 feet from me. The people in that glass conference room said that he stopped and looked at me longingly for a moment, nervously acted he was going to say something, but couldn't work up the courage to approach me. He walked away from my cubicle backwards never taking his eyes off me, silently mouthing the words "I love you" over and over again....

Or something like that.

The point of the story is that my new company is exciting, and ladies...Owen Wilson is in town this weekend so look your best!


<<prev - next>>