[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2004-03-10

Arrrggghghghhghghgghggg!! The best laid plans, ack! Damn it...this didn't work!

You see, Colleen is on vacation, staying at a weird old hotel that has little cubby holes by the front desk where they leave your messages.

I was explicitly instructed to leave a dodgy code message with the front desk clerk, and ask him to give it to her.

So I came up with the following:

The puppets have arrived at the duck farm.
It is your turn to pass the salt. -- D.D.

I called the front desk.

I explicitly and mysteriously said in a low voice, "I need to leave an urgent message for Room 308."

He said, "Okay, I'll transfer you!"

Then the phone said, "That guest is not available. Please leave a voicemail message after the tone. Beep!"

Moral of the story: Mysterious, dodgy code messages are not nearly as fun when they aren't placed in cubby holes where they can potentially (and hopefully) be intercepted by the resistance.


<<prev - next>>