[new] [old] [e-mail] [profile] [diaryland]
2004-01-25

Hummers piss me off, I don't understand our nation's love affair with them. I can appreciate wanting an ugly car, but I can't understand the super-consumption mentality involved with owning, maintaining, and fueling up a vehicle that status seekers buy for the sheer purpose of beating their chests with their wallets.

Prior to the release of the H2, wasn't the point of having a Hummer that it was a for-real military vehicle? And therefore relatively hard to get, making it somewhat exclusive?

And now it is a glorified soccer dad SUV, widely available in a fashionable palette of colors?

Point being, today I went to a shopping mall. As I pulled into the parking lot, there was a lone Hummer parked way back by itself in the last row, presumably to protect it from any "commoners" who would park closer to the entrance. This riled me up.

So I parked my car out there right next to it. Right next to it, as in, over the line.


<<prev - next>>